The First-Ever American Country Countdown Awards

Matthew Awards, News

The first ever edition of the American Country Countdown Awards took place at the Music City Centre in Nashville last night.

The Male Vocalist of the Year award was the first ACC Awards trophy handed out during Monday night’s inaugural American Country Countdown Awards. Luke Bryan picked up the first of three ACC wins of the evening, the others being with Florida Georgia Line for Collaboration of the Year and Digital Song of the Year.

It was Jason Aldean who won the top prize, beating Florida Georgia Line, Bryan, Miranda Lambert and more to win Artist of the Year. “Thank you all for allowing me have a career doing something that I truly, truly love.” he said, clutching his first major Entertainer of the Year-type award.

Eric Church won the Album of the Year trophy and said in his acceptance speech “There’s a lot of people that think that albums are a thing of the past in the world of a $0.99 soundbite, I will say that albums matter more now than ever.”

As all awards were decided using sales and radio airplay numbers there were few surprises for artists. Still, many fans might have been shocked to see Kip Moore‘s hard-earned Breakthrough Artist win. And others may have been surprised Aldean’s ‘Old Boots, New Dirt’ was left out of the Album category, despite being the only Platinum country album of 2014. It’s likely it missed the deadline for 2014.


Kenny Chesney picked up the Groundbreaker Award, presented by Vince Vaughn. During his acceptance speech he stated “God gave me an incredible gift, and that gift was, He put a song in my heart. And that song has taken me to places that I never dreamed it would. That gift has allowed me to connect with millions of people over the years in ways that I never thought was possible. Music allows us to find commonality and it validates all of our lives in ways that nothing else can, and that’s what I love about music.”

Reba McEntire picked up the first ever Nash Icon award, presented by Kix Brooks. The 59-year-old was honored with a tribute by daughter-in-law Kelly Clarkson and Miranda Lambert, who performed a duet of ‘How Blue,’ ‘Take It Back’ and ‘Fancy,’ with McEntire joining them on the latter song.

“Thank you to the American Country Countdown Awards,” McEntire said while accepting her award. “This is a very special honor, and it sure means the world to me to be thought of as a valued member of the country music family. I feel very blessed to still be making country music and sharing it with the people in America and around the world who love it as much as I do.


“And standing here tonight in Nashville, I think back to what it was like to be one of the new kids in town, trying to make my name in country music,” she continued, as tears filled her eyes. “So as I look around the room at all the talented men and women doing such great work in country music today, I pray you have the chance to live a whole beautiful life making music for the people who give us the greatest job in the world, our fans. And as Kix said, in music, as in life, it’s all about connecting with people. I feel so thankful to have made such a deep and lasting connection with all of you.

Full Results

Artist of the Year

Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Florida Georgia Line
Lady Antebellum
Blake Shelton

Male Vocalist of the Year

Luke Bryan
Jason Aldean
Dierks Bentley
Randy Houser
Blake Shelton

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert
Danielle Bradbury
Cassadee Pope
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Group/Duo of the Year

Florida Georgia Line
The Band Perry
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Zac Brown Band

Song Of The Year

“Beat of the Music” by Brett Eldridge (written by Brett Eldredge, Ross Copperman, Heather Morgan)
“When She Says Baby” by Jason Aldean
“Lettin’ The Night Roll” by Justin Moore
“Drink To That All Night” by Jerrod Niemann
“Chilling’ It” by Cole Swindell

Collaboration Of The Year

“This Is How We Roll” – Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan
“Small Town Throwdown” – Brantley Gilbert featuring Justin Moore and Thomas Rhett
“Meanwhile Back At Mama’s” – Tim McGraw, featuring Faith Hill
“My Eyes” – Blake Shelton featuring Gwen Sebastian
“We Were Us” – Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert

Album of the Year

“The Outsiders” – Eric Church
“Crash My Party” – Luke Bryan
“Here’s To The Good Times” – Florida Georgia Line
“Just As I Am” – Brantley Gilbert
“Platinum” – Miranda Lambert

Digital Song of the Year

“This Is How We Roll” – Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan
“Burnin’ It Down” – Jason Aldean
“Drink A Beer” – Luke Bryan
“Play It Again” – Luke Bryan
“Dirt” – Florida Georgia Line

Breakthrough Artist Of The Year

Kip Moore
Brett Eldredge
Tyler Farr
Thomas Rhett
Cole Swindell
[twitter-follow username=”nashoverhere” scheme=”dark” count=”no”]